THIS WEEK IN RUNNING NEWS!


I smell a trend, Runner's World. (Image source: http://www.runnersworld.co.uk)

WEATHER: Hottish, humid.

MILES: 5.5

MILES THIS WEEK: 5.5

WHERE TO: Capitol Hill, Chinatown

MOOD: Meh.  Fine.

TODAY’S RUNNING SONG: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iWOyfLBYtuU&ob=av3e (Have I featured this before?  DOES NOT MATTER.  Excellent running song.)

OK, sports fans.  Time again for your favorite sort-of-weekly-but-not-quite-but-you-can-write-your-own-damn-blog-you-freeloading-lazybum-if-you-don’t-like-it Running Log feature:

THIS WEEK IN RUNNING NEWS:

This race will change our lives The 2011 Run for Your Lives 5K apparently involves running away from zombies, and in the process leaping, terrified, over obstacles and leaving your fellow competitors for dead (“Eat that guy’s brains!  Over there!  My neural pathways are clogged with malted hops and bong resin anyway!”).  October 22 in Baltimore!  Who’s in? (h/t: The First Jew)

Runner’s World to give up, just feature close-ups of glistening six-packs on all covers from now on. Seriously.  Because this is what running is about.

Our good friend Stretch did an Ironman this past weekend.  Good for him.  (Seriously, though: well done, Stretch.) (Also: you just got 3 sincere, non-sarcastic, non-childish words on my blog, which is like a new record or something.) (Three more words now: Fart boobs crap.)

Northern Minnesota ultra seeing record numbers. Way to go, northern MN (seriously, Duluth, I love you and want to go to there).

Area men continue to insist on perpetuating ugly gender stereotypes. On my Saturday run, I ran past a local university’s frat reunion and was…wait for it…barked at.  A pack of men, most of whom looked to be around 40, barked like a crew of rottweilers weenie little dachshunds.  Another pack of men made the absolutely homicide-inducing kissy noise at me.  I cannot explain to you how much this makes me want to hunt them down and stand over their beds with a butcher knife in a hockey mask in the dead of night and when they wake up screaming, carve “STOP MAKING THAT NOISE” into the walls of their bedrooms.

Fantastibad DC heat waves appear to be over (for now). Behold!

BLOG OF THE WEEK: 50 miles or bust.  Look!  Another runner doing the JFK 50!  This person’s mileage looks legit-crazypants.  Legit-crazypants in an awesome way.  Woooooo see you at the start line (no, but seriously, I will try to obliterate you) (haha, joking!) (until race morning).

2 responses to this post.

  1. Hey there – that’s my blog you linked in your post. I’ll be there – looking for a sub 8, how about you?

    PS: I quite enjoyed perusing your posts, some of which made me laugh out loud. Merci.

    Reply

    • Posted by DJ on August 24, 2011 at 8:58 pm

      Sub-8. Huh. Godspeed, you speedy woman. I’m not exactly sure what I’m shooting for, aside from a shot at the Olympics, which goes without saying, am I right?

      Seriously, thanks for the props, and major props at you for running like the freak God made you. That’s a compliment, btw.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

